The Maltese Islands

The Three Cities

The Three Cities, were named Vittoriosa, Cospicua and Senglea by the Knights of St. John following the against-all-odds success in repelling the Ottoman Empire during the famous Great Siege of 1565 that was fought here. Situated on one side of the majestic Grand Harbour, the Three Cities actually predate the Maltese capital and were the first home of the Knights. This historical area has largely retained much of its architectural heritage. 

Vittoriosa is the principal of the three cities. Its old centre known as Il Collachio, is a mesmerizing network of beautiful alleys that is lovely to explore. There are a number of architectural gems in the area, of particular note is the Inquisitor’s Palace, an architectural spectacle and a rare surviving palace of its kind. Together with the forts and other notable buildings in the area are testimony to the early mood and character of the Knights during their early presence on the Maltese Islands.

The recently regenerated Vittoriosa Waterfront is nowadays a hub for some of the most luxurious yachts in the Mediterranean. Offering a few select luxury private residences for rent, this historic location offers an ideal location for a holiday combining culture and yacht charter.